Loppet Foundation

Minne Tour

Do not let the name fool you . . . The Minne Tour is for the big dogs seeking to take their share of the $6,000 purse. The Tour connects the Classic Marathon, the Sprints, and the Skate Marathon in one grueling weekend of skiing. Skiers with the top cumulative times win cash prizes: $1500 for first, $800 for second, $400 for third, $200 for fourth and $100 for fifth.


To qualify for the Minne Tour prize categories, athletes must register for, compete in and complete the Sprints, the Classic Marathon and the Skate Marathon. To make the registration process easier, before November 30 athletes may register for the Sprints and the Loppet Challenge. After November 30, the only option is to register for the three events separately. The top five skiers in the Open Division of the Sprints receive a time bonus:

  • 1st – two minutes
  • 2nd – one minute
  • 3rd – 30 seconds
  • 4th – 15 seconds
  • 5th – 10 seconds

The Classic Marathon race and the Skate Marathon each contain an enduro section – a race within the race. The top male and female to win the enduro on Saturday receives a 30 second time bonus. The Minne Tour leaders are determined by adding the skiers’ times in the Classic and Skate Marathon and deducting any time bonuses from their times. Lowest cumulative time wins.

Example: Abby Gold finishes the Classic in 2 hours and the Skate Marathon in 1:30. She wins the Open Division of the Sprints and the Classic enduro. Abby’s total Minne Tour time is 3:30 less 2 minutes for winning the Open Division of the Sprints less 30 seconds for winning the first enduro – giving her a total time of 3:27:30. Tammy Silver skis the Classic in 1:59 and the Skate Marathon in 1:29, but Tammy does not get any time bonuses because she is not a good sprinter. Tammy’s total time is 3:28 – she loses to Abby Gold by 30 seconds.

Note that in order to qualify for the Minne Tour prizes competitors MUST complete all events, including the Sprints (Open Division). Any athlete who has not registered for all three Minne Tour events by the close of on-line registration – Tuesday, January 31 – will not be entered into the Minne Tour and will not be eligible for cash prizes – even if the athlete registers for all of the individual events on event weekend.